Can’t Get You Out Of My Head

“I just can’t get you out of my head
Boy your lovin’ is all I think about
I just can’t get you out of my head
Boy it’s more than I dare to think about”

from “Can’t Get You Out Of My Head” by Kylie Minogue 

Simple.

I type the lyrics – now you can’t get the song out of YOUR head.

The power of music and words.

Doesn’t it drive you to distraction when you get part of a song stuck in your head, but you can’t place it?

My three and a half year old was looking at a book of nursery rhymes yesterday.  It’s a book I’ve not seen her show interest in for months.  Yet, there she was singing or reciting the rhymes.  She’s too young to be able to read properly, but the illustrations enabled her to make a connection and to rattle off words put to song or rhythm and, somehow, committed to memory…

I suspect most of us could sing a verse or chorus to a song we like. 

How many of us can recite some prose – a poem, a sonnet, even a section from one of our favourite books? 

How many of us could quote verbatim a piece of statute or procedure or theorem that governs  specific and fundamentally important areas of our daily work? 

How many of us can quote those memory verses we learned in Sunday School? 

When everything we need is at the end of a wireless connection, have we forgotten how to remember?

So, we all have different tastes, but, I guess, we get drawn to songs and music by the way they sound.  Do the words get stuck in our heads?  Do they influence us in any way?

In the days before the Internet or even the printing press, how were ideas and truths conveyed?  In times of lower levels of literacy, how were these things passed from one generation to another?  Through story telling and song, I imagine.  Is that why I hear singing constantly in any news reports from remote African settlements and the like?  Are there songs of freedom?  Songs of liberation?  Songs of mourning?  Songs for weary pilgrims? Song of songs?

What truths have you learned from the songs you can’t get out of your head?

7 Responses to “Can’t Get You Out Of My Head”


  1. 1 hearthedrummergetwicked August 1, 2008 at 9:51 am

    I can’t get Biffy Clyro’s Mountain out of my head at the moment. “I am a mountain, I am the sea, you can’t take that away from me.”

    I don’t know what it means…well I have my own thoughts, but I love a song that makes me cry.

    Your friend

  2. 2 hearthedrummergetwicked August 1, 2008 at 9:52 am

    Did you get that last post?

  3. 3 hearthedrummergetwicked August 1, 2008 at 9:57 am

    I can’t get Biffy Clyro’s ‘Mountains’ out of my head right now.

    ‘I am a mountain, I am the sea. You can’t take that away from me.’

    I don’t know whaty it means….well I have my ideas,but I love a song that on on first hearing moves me to tears.

    Your friend

  4. 4 thestatethatiamin August 1, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    Ah, Mr McC! SOOO GOOD to hear from you.

    I always reckoned you and I walked similar paths in different places. Hope you like the blog and keep in touch.

  5. 5 duncanmcf August 2, 2008 at 9:25 am

    What have we forgotten because it’s at the end of the wireless network? That is so true, I just kind of think why memorise stuff if I can go on and look it up in seconds. It’s like an expansion of my knowledge base, like knowing that everything Wikipedia knows is right there for me, at least next time I hit a PC.

    One of the great songs for me is Nena’s “99 red balloons” – “there I am standing pretty, in this dust that was a city”. A great not so subtle song on the madness of nuclear war and weapons.

  6. 6 thestatethatiamin August 2, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    “99 Red Balloons” – good call.

    There’s a snapshot in an Episode of Scrubs when JD and Turk break into a rendition of that song and it cracks me up.


  1. 1 Worship (Music): What makes a “good” “worship” song? « What’s your point caller? Trackback on August 2, 2008 at 1:36 pm

Leave a Reply

RSS What I’m Listening To

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
"The priest in the booth had a photographic memory for all he had heard. He took all of my sins and he wrote a pocket novel called "The State That I'm In"". From "The State I Am In" by Belle and Sebastian
Blog for Amnesty - Protect the Human

