(That’s How You Sing) Amazing Grace

Worship is so much bigger than songs, regardless of whatever style or tradition we might prefer.  Do we think too much about how worship makes us feel rather than what true worship might cost us?

My wife’s latest post has really got me thinking.  I would really encourage you to check it out here.

“It sounds like razors in my ears
That bell’s been ringing now for years
Some day I’ll give it all away
That’s how you sing amazing grace

Oh, can you hear that sweet, sweet, sound
Yeah, I was lost but now I’m found
Sometimes there’s nothing left to save
That’s how you sing amazing grace
Amazing grace
That’s how you sing amazing grace”

From “(That’s How You Sing) Amazing Grace” by Low

The above is one of my all-time favourite songs.  The contrast between something that “sounds like razors in my ears” and the “sweet, sweet, sound” of recognising we were once lost but now are found is only gained through sacrifice and surrender.

P.S. Skip a coffee and purchase this song from iTunes instead.  It may sound quiet, but its textures and harmonies are richer when  played loud.

0 Responses to “(That’s How You Sing) Amazing Grace”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

RSS What I’m Listening To

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
"The priest in the booth had a photographic memory for all he had heard. He took all of my sins and he wrote a pocket novel called "The State That I'm In"". From "The State I Am In" by Belle and Sebastian
Blog for Amnesty - Protect the Human

