East Of Eden

“He said “some men born rich, some men born poor
But they’re rich in other ways”
Into my heart his wisdom poured”

from “East Of Eden” by Babyshambles.

Art often speaks into our lives in profound ways.  We are sensual beings and I love those rare moments where I stop and just appreciate creativity and what an object is trying to portray or how I interpret it.

We spent a glorious day at the Eden Project in Cornwall a couple of weeks ago.  I loved the whole concept.  It was established on a former quarry which had been drained of its mineral resources.  Rather than leaving a scar on the landscape, Eden now represents the largest plant enclosure in the world.  It has been pain-stakingly designed and constructed wherein seeds, that were apparently dead, were planted exactly where they should be in order that they would grow together to form something beautiful.  After being buried in the ground, they formed roots, drank deeply, grew stronger and blossomed into new life.  They were sometimes scattered, often pruned, sometimes up-rooted and re-planted, lovingly tended and generously cared for.  The dome-like bio-spheres hosted such an amazing array of species from the plant kingdom.  It was beautiful and made my mind wander back to the imagery of another Eden. 

One of the things that stuck in my mind was a sculpture called “Seed”.  I guess the idea was sown, germinated and lovingly nurtured to find it’s role as a monument of sorts.  The explanation of the piece of art is below.

I want to grow physically, emotionally and spiritually.  I want my life to be a testament in perpetuity to something bigger than me. 

  

The Message helpfully paraphrases John 12: 24-25 as follows, “Listen carefully: Unless a grain of wheat is buried in the ground, dead to the world, it is never any more than a grain of wheat.   But if it is buried, it sprouts and reproduces itself many times over.  In the same way, anyone who holds on to life, just as it is, destroys that life.  But if you let it go, reckless in your love, you’ll have it forever, real and eternal.”

In a day and age where we see religious extremism on a global scale, I just see something worth living for – a design for life and life in all its fullness – not a cause for violence or suicide bombings. 

0 Responses to “East Of Eden”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

RSS What I’m Listening To

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
"The priest in the booth had a photographic memory for all he had heard. He took all of my sins and he wrote a pocket novel called "The State That I'm In"". From "The State I Am In" by Belle and Sebastian
Blog for Amnesty - Protect the Human

