Hope For An Angel

I believe in the human need to believe there’s hope for an angel
One who’s gone, for he had become, in the sky there’s space for an angel
Overhead, if you look real hard, you will see that there’s millions of angels
One who’s gone, for he had become, in the sky there’s space for an angel”

From “Hope For An Angel” by Biffy Clyro

As, what I understand to be the largest sculpture in Britain, Anthony Gormley’s “Angel of the North” has become an icon.  I remember following the controversy in the press in the period leading up to its arrival in February 1998.  I have felt anticipation as I near it any time I drive by Gateshead.  Those feelings are quickly replaced with a deep appreciation and inner glow once I see it – out of a car window or in my rear view mirror.

Maybe we all long for someone or something to be looking out for us, protecting us?  Something so much larger than we are.  Something that keeps a vigil on everything going on below.  Something solid and unchanging.  Somewhere where we can find rest under the shadow of its wings…

I don’t spend a lot of time thinking about angels, but the volume of visitors to this sculpture suggest that there is a human need that draws us to what it conveys.  I think that even subconsciously we all long for what they might bring.  We see them portrayed in classic pieces of art, in the familiar Christmas story amidst the cozy feelings of the season of goodwill, as imagery in a million love songs, ballads and karaoke favourites. 

Maybe we spend too much time consumed with looking at the things immediately around us, dredging through the things in the past or worrying about the things ahead instead of fixing our eyes on things above?

 

2 Responses to “Hope For An Angel”


  1. 1 exactscience October 12, 2008 at 4:11 am

    Maybe we do.

    We also have a habit of talking about guardian angels, which I find a really bizarre notion. That isn’t to say that I don’t think angels exist just that better explanations exist for what we think of as guardian angels, mainly Him and Him using people.


  1. 1 Stop-off points while you cyber-surf « Musings of a Koala Trackback on October 10, 2008 at 7:53 pm

Leave a Reply

RSS What I’m Listening To

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
"The priest in the booth had a photographic memory for all he had heard. He took all of my sins and he wrote a pocket novel called "The State That I'm In"". From "The State I Am In" by Belle and Sebastian
Blog for Amnesty - Protect the Human

