Teenage Kicks

I need excitement, oh, I need it bad

And it’s the best I’ve ever had”

From “Teenage Kicks” by The Undertones.

Today is the fourth anniversary of John Peel’s death.  I didn’t have a blog back then, but the photo is taken from a scrap book we were keeping at the time.

I still miss “The Peel Session” on Radio 1 and “Home Truths” on Radio 4.  I feel nostalgic and happy and sad all at the same time if I ever hear his voice broadcast.

Many of us will have our favourite Peel moments.  For me they include:

  • His broadcast of the Chemikal Underground Records 10th anniversary party where my mate’s band were introduced as “Cumbernauld’s number one death metal band” (no surprises to learn that they were neither from Cumbernauld nor death metal);
  • Dave Gedge of The Wedding Present’s brief chat with Michael Aspel on “This Is Your Life” which appears half way through this short you tube link after Mark E Smith of The Fall; 
  • My friend, Andrew, getting his first 7″ single played by John Peel;
  • Aereogramme’s live set at the Gronegan festival in Holland which had a particularly amusing bit when Peely was interviewing the band wherein some punters in the background started shouting, “John Peel – we’re not worthy!”, to which he dryly chuckled, “No, you’re not”.

The lyrics at the top are from what is famously known as John Peel’s favourite record.  Exact Science mentioned it in passing on a recent comment on my blog by noting, “Just to touch on John Peel, cause you mention him. In referring to Teenage Kicks he said that he didn’t think there was anything you could add or take away to make it better. I think that is the crux of all great art.”

John Peel carried a copy of “Teenage Kicks” with him everytime he was DJing at some event. 

What record would always make your playlist and why?

 

4 Responses to “Teenage Kicks”


  1. 1 exactscience October 25, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    I wanna hold her wanna hold her tight
    Get teenage kicks right through the night

    Gosh that Exact Science fella knows all kinds of obscure nonsense.

    As for the record? Everyone Choose Sides / 13 Months in 6 Minutes by the Wrens. The Meadowlands is just about as perfect a record as you can get. Not the 47 stars that John Peel gave Teenage Kicks but y’know close.

    The promo vid for Teenage Kicks

  2. 2 brunettekoala October 26, 2008 at 12:26 am

    It’s maybe not cool but my record will be ‘Don’t Look Back in Anger’ by Oasis.

    But then I’ve been thinking more, and the other one that remains really important to me is ‘I Would Stay’ by Krezip.

    If I die tomorrow, I’d want both played at my funeral. As long as my coffin comes in to The Replacements…and NO ONE sings ‘Days of Elijah’ or the old versions of ‘O For A Thousand Tongues to Sing’/”The Lord’s My Shepherd”.

    Otherwise I’ll be coming back to haunt people 🙂

  3. 3 thestatethatiamin October 26, 2008 at 7:33 am

    I don’t think it matter how “cool” or otherwise the song should be. If the definition was “cool” then we’d be using other people’s criteria as a benchmark rather than why the song means so much to us.

    As far as songs for a funeral, I know some people may find that morbid, but I also have my playlist sorted (yup, it was inspired by the question raised in Nick Hornby’s “High Fidelity”)

    Songs for my funeral then, “Round and Around” performed by Mark Kozelek (of Red House Painters/Sun Kil Moon) and Rachel Goswell (of Mojave 3/Slowdive) as found on “The Shanti Project Benefit Album” by Various Artists. (Song originally by John Denver). The other song would be “Holy, Holy,Holy” as performed by Sufjan Stevens from his Christmas albums boxset. It is just so beautifully re-worked and might fix everyones’ attention on things above in a situation where nobody is pretending anynmore.

    Back to happier thoughts, I’ll let you all know my answer to what song will always make my playlist and why in my next post very soon…


  1. 1 Who’ll find the next Elvis now…? « Musings of a Koala Trackback on October 25, 2008 at 4:07 pm

Leave a Reply

RSS What I’m Listening To

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
"The priest in the booth had a photographic memory for all he had heard. He took all of my sins and he wrote a pocket novel called "The State That I'm In"". From "The State I Am In" by Belle and Sebastian
Blog for Amnesty - Protect the Human

