Casimir Pulaski Day

On my most recent post, I quoted extensively from an engaging interview with Sam Beam of Iron & Wine which appeared in Paste magazine.  You can link to that post here.  He commented that the three main topics which he believes will really affect someone as a human being are: love; God; and death. 

Are those the topics that really seperate “great” art (in whatever media i.e painting, sculpture, photography, literature, film, music, whatever) from “good” art?  For me, I think that notion certainly rings very true.  Faced with any one of those issues in isolation and, in our most quiet and honest moments, I reckon that we stop pretending.

I asked what these things would look or sound like?

For me, I think it might be something very much like the attached you tube clip.  This is a song that speaks more truth to me about these subjects than many others.  The video is something that has not been prepared by some high budget commission by the musician involved, but is simply someone having lovingly story-boarded the sentiment and imagery and story of the song.  The result gets me every time I watch and listen to it.  I know there can be a tendency to skip people’s video links on blogs, but I would encourage you to click the arrow below and watch this.

4 Responses to “Casimir Pulaski Day”


  1. 1 scottgladstone November 11, 2008 at 8:25 am

    Lovely

  2. 2 scottgladstone November 11, 2008 at 10:33 am

    Lovely.

    This song is especially sad for me right now. My ex-girlfriend has an osteosarcoma that the chemo isn’t shrinking. Prayer seems not to help. We split months ago but I don’t want to lose her just yet.

  3. 3 thestatethatiamin November 11, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    Sorry to hear about your ex-girlfriend. I know people who have been diagnosed and some are, thankfully, still with me.

    It is a sad song and a sad video, but I love the line and thought, “All the glory that the Lord has made and the complications you could do without”. I guess that is real life.

    I’d rather live for something worthwhile even if at times I need to wrestle and limp my way through. I’ve got more thoughts on that on my posts from a few months ago entitled “Say My Name” and “I See A Darkness” which you can navigate to on the search function on the front page of the blog.

  4. 4 scottgladstone November 11, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    I’d rather live for something worthwhile even if at times I need to wrestle and limp my way through.

    A friend of mine wrote a poem: Peniel for Seth. It contained the line:
    “Wrestle with me God of Jacob”

    What you said reminded me of that line in the poem. I’d rather live for something and I do I think, despite too much time wrestle with God


Leave a Reply

RSS What I’m Listening To

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
"The priest in the booth had a photographic memory for all he had heard. He took all of my sins and he wrote a pocket novel called "The State That I'm In"". From "The State I Am In" by Belle and Sebastian
Blog for Amnesty - Protect the Human

