Born Into A Light

pb150008

I love living in Edinburgh, but it’s not really known as a city for live music.  In fact, even now, I’m struggling to think of the last decent gig I went to in the town I call home.  It seems I’m forever making trips over to Glasgow to see bands.  Yet tonight, Death Cab For Cutie and Ryan Adams & The Cardinals were both in town.

In these times of prudence in business, I think that has rubbed off on home life too.  I hadn’t thought I could justify the ticket price of either of those gigs given some other stuff that we were committed to this month.  But at 8.40, after I commented that both bands were in Edinburgh tonight, my wife said that I should just go and see if there were any tickets left.  Maybe it was the thrill of the possibility of seeing a band I love even when I hadn’t expected to.  But with her blessing I scooted into town.  I got to The Picture House at 9.10 and they sold me a spare guest pass for the Cardinals gig.  The band had been on since 8.00, but I still caught over an hour and a half of the gig.

They were so tight and the harmonies were beautiful.  The range of notes that they reached with their voices was unbelievable.  Ryan Adams used his vocal chords like an instrument as well as really rocking out with some big guitar riffage blending with pedal steel Americana and alt.country twangs.  The band seemed to love jamming and the time changes were so syncopated and the swells of sound so georgeous.  The gig ended in a huge wig-out into Sonic Youth-esque walls of tuned feedback.  Rock ‘n’ Roll troubadours won out tonight and it was all the more special because of the spontaneity of the evening.

“For everyone alone, I wish you faith and hope
And all the strength to cope
To be your own best friend – have confidence and keep the faith
Be patient ,oh, the past is just a memory – and heal
Heal your vines – you’ll heal inside eventually”

From “Born Into A Light” by Ryan Adams & The Cardinals.

3 Responses to “Born Into A Light”


  1. 1 scottgladstone November 15, 2008 at 11:10 am

    There is nothing quite like a good gig

  2. 2 Fin November 17, 2008 at 11:28 am

    Was on the other side of that coin – made the trek down from the North to see Death Cab – awesome!!! Almost cried when they played Transatlanticisms…the lyric “I need you so much closer” almost seems like a cry to God…

  3. 3 thestatethatiamin November 17, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    Hey Fin – good to hear from you. Hope the trip to the states went well and that you’re still enjoying the blog. Let me know if you’re down in Glasgow or Edinburgh for any other gigs and we could meet up.

    I’m sure Death Cab would’ve been awesome too. Oh, for the ability to be in two places at once!


Leave a Reply

RSS What I’m Listening To

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
"The priest in the booth had a photographic memory for all he had heard. He took all of my sins and he wrote a pocket novel called "The State That I'm In"". From "The State I Am In" by Belle and Sebastian
Blog for Amnesty - Protect the Human

