About Love

pb300013

Do you ever hear a song that you wish you had written?  Is there a song that has been so inter-twined into your life story or is inseparable from you and your circle of friends?

I love those little Q & A interviews in the Guardian Weekend Magazine.  Some of those questions are great.  It often strikes me as cliched and trite when people answer, “When and where were you happiest?” with answers such as, “On my wedding day” or “at the birth of my first child”.  But those events are life changing and defining and we had reason to celebrate the anniversary of both of those things these past few days.

My one regret from my own wedding day is that I wish I had made more of a speech.  In fact, I wish I could have composed, played and sung a song (but I recognise those are not natural abilities of mine, so maybe it’s a silly notion).  Instead I rely upon the following song which has accompanied the two of us for most of our sixteen years as a couple and which rings every bit as true for me today as it did eleven years ago when we got married. 

 

“I see you well
But I can’t tell
If you are young or old, dear

I love you so
But I don’t know
If we are hot or cold here

Until by death we fade
I’ll try to trade you
Grin for grin
And tear for tear

The taste of your sweet breath
The salt of morning tears
Again I say good-bye to you
Hold on tight
So good to hurt so bad
So sad to ride away renewed
Go on laugh
Go on cry
It’s alright

There’s something wonderful about love
There’s something wonderful about love
There’s something lost about me with you
There’s something blind about the chosen few
There’s something wonderful about love

Was I meant to be yours
The will of Christ above?
Do you believe true love is blind?
‘Cause I don’t know
When I get home come spring
Won’t you be glad to be mine?
Just don’t laugh
Please don’t cry
Just say so

There’s something wonderful about love
There’s something wonderful about love
There’s something dark about destiny
There’s something blue about you with me
There’s something wonderful about love

Sorry to call so late
The planet turned 4 times
You’re on my mind but you’re nowhere
In my world
Please kiss the little bird
God bless the cozy cage we share
You kill me
You thrill me
You threaten my dreams, girl

There’s something wonderful about love
There’s something wonderful about love
There’s something liberating death alone brings
There’s something funny about a lot of sad things
There’s something wonderful about love”

From “Tear For Tear” and “About Love” by The Choir

 

0 Responses to “About Love”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

RSS What I’m Listening To

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
"The priest in the booth had a photographic memory for all he had heard. He took all of my sins and he wrote a pocket novel called "The State That I'm In"". From "The State I Am In" by Belle and Sebastian
Blog for Amnesty - Protect the Human

