Bethlehem Steel

“But the steeples on the hills they point
To a better life beyond this one
And that promise penetrates the clouds
And mighty walls of brick red cinnamon”

From “Bethlehem Steel” by Grant Lee Buffalo

91381381_13085560a7_m

The above lyrics come from a song using the picture language of the nativity to describe the steel workings of parts of America in their heights.  That said, I love the idea of spires and steeples drawing our attention upwards and away from ourselves.  I have a tendency to look at my feet or straight ahead when I am walking, pre-occupied with my thoughts.  How often do I set my eyes on things above?

Yet, I believe music is a vehicle which can transport us to different places instantaneously.  I cherish those rare moments when I see someone walking down a street with their earphones on, singing out loud and simply lost in the joy of music.  The video clip below is worth watching in its entirety for the same reasons…

6 Responses to “Bethlehem Steel”


  1. 1 ScottGladstone December 4, 2008 at 11:50 pm

    Looking upwards also helps lower depression, you get more light which inhibits melatonin which makes you drowsy.

    On days when I am being happy and the sun is out but the air is just a little crisp I am quite likely to be caught singing along to songs, I am quite likely to be tapping to the drum beat as well.

  2. 2 brunettekoala December 5, 2008 at 12:34 am

    I was going to say I do this all the time until I got to about half way through when the music cut out, and he sang out…never quite go that far in the middle of the street.

    I remember being on holiday when I was 15 with my friend’s family. We’d all be lying next to the pool soaking up the sun and I’d have my walkman on, I’d end up singing a song the whole way through, open my eyes to find them all smiling at me. They thought it was hilarious and they never once stopped me embarrassing myself.

    Oh well!

  3. 3 thestatethatiamin December 5, 2008 at 10:51 am

    @Scott – good to hear from you. I reckon we all need to keep listening to good music and looking upwards.

    @BK – I can picture the scene.

    As an aside, our daughter was given a personal CD player complete with microphone for her birthday this week. It is the fist time she has had something like this. The way she uses it is interesting…so far the microphone seems to have three purposes:

    1) To be blown into, to make a “Heavy breathing” sound (v. worrying)

    2) To be held against the amp part of the CD player to make shrieks of feed back (yes – I was sad enough to emblazen one of her t-shirts with “Sonic Youth” in marker pen when she was only 2…)

    3) To impersonate our pastor from church (totally unprovoked) and must show that he is one of the few people she has actually seen with a microphone.

    Also worryingly she was seen to be holding the mic coyly with her pinky outstretched in a not dis-similar pose to Tony Hadley of Spandeau Ballet…

  4. 4 brunettekoala December 5, 2008 at 11:22 am

    So how long until your daughter does her first concert? I really want to see her doing the Pastor impressions.

    My sister, brother and I did tons of concerts in our living room growing up. Unfortunately our parents music taste isn’t the best – so we were brought up on pop music (yeeeccch). So our concerts included Spice Girls, Steps, Whitney Houston, Lighthouse Family and Britney Spears….oh the shame!

  5. 5 thestatethatiamin December 5, 2008 at 12:16 pm

    Mmmmm, maybe I should try to introduce her to that sort of music now, so that she rebels against it when she gets older too…Lol!

  6. 6 brunettekoala December 5, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    There are certain cheesy pop songs that everyone must learn of that include dancing…

    Macarena, Saturday Night, Time Warp…

    I’d be happy to educate!


Leave a Reply

RSS What I’m Listening To

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
"The priest in the booth had a photographic memory for all he had heard. He took all of my sins and he wrote a pocket novel called "The State That I'm In"". From "The State I Am In" by Belle and Sebastian
Blog for Amnesty - Protect the Human

