The New Life

p1060006

So we had 2009’s first gathering of our little small group collective in our home on Tuesday night.  It was great to see friends old and new and there was much laughing and a loud din of chat as we all caught up with eachother.  Small group just got much better as you can see from the above photo of the pudding that Learning From Sophie brought…

After eating together we watched a “Society Room” DVD where Gabe Lyons interviewed Chuck Colson.  They touched on something we have chatted a fair bit about over the past year i.e what exactly is the gospel we are meant to share? 

That may sound dumb, but, have we tended to focus on: creation, the fall and redemption without, perhaps, placing enough on a fourth element, namely, restoration?  Do we believe in a divine mandate to bring restoration to people, to our planet, for justice? 

We talked about our hang-ups with evangelism.  We chatted about the need for mission and for this not to be some kind of hit and run thing but a need to disciple people and to explain that Christianity is likely to make life harder rather than easier.  We considered whether, actually, our small group is a place where we can disciple one another and hold eachother accountable regardless of age and stage physically or in our journeys of faith.  Do we ever stop needing to be discipled?

As we start a new series of teaching moving us toward some practical outworkings of all our musings, I wonder what this aspect of the year will hold for this little bunch of friends I consider so important to me?  Maybe it’s not just the New Year that starts here, but a New Life…

“Are you under the Mercy?
Are you under attack?
Are you going forward?
Are you going back?
The new life starts here

Are you coming to grips?
Are you coming apart?
Are you listening to fear?
Or to your heart?
The new life starts here

Are you building heaven
or are you building hell?
When that great day comes
will you be able to tell?
The new life starts here

Citizen, criminal, child
woman or man
The keys to the Kingdom
are in your own hands
The new life starts here

God of our love
who ignited the sun
Not my will
but thine be done
The new life starts here”

 

From “The New Life” by The Waterboys

3 Responses to “The New Life”


  1. 1 Duncan January 8, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    I think it’s really exciting to discover the truth inherent to the gospel, but to see how it’s so relevant to life in everyday. The irony is for me that rather than the cultural mandate chasing me from evangelism, it’s actually left me with a greater heart to communicate the truth than ever. Looking forward to your love out loud ideas!

  2. 2 thestatethatiamin January 9, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    Thanks Duncan. It’s not that I feel chased from evangelism, it’s just that I have baggage from the image of street preachers or the guilt of feeling that I ought to use every opportunity to share my faith – even if that seems very un-natural to me. I think many outside the church also have baggage from those things. The reality is that a focus toward mission via discipleship and just living out a faith system that ought to influence all my daily decisions seems much more natural and real to me. I have a long way to go.

    Belonging to the church community we do also makes it easier to talk about church. If friends come along, I think they find it welcoming, engaging and attractive. They see the sense of family and community. The challenge is to ensure that they also know the cost of following Jesus and to ensure we communicate the whole gospel – all 4 parts of it. I think we do that as a church and I am indebted to our leaders. We need to keep supporting and praying for them – one and all.


  1. 1 Fun with the alphabet « Learning from Sophie Trackback on May 18, 2009 at 6:46 pm

Leave a Reply

RSS What I’m Listening To

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
"The priest in the booth had a photographic memory for all he had heard. He took all of my sins and he wrote a pocket novel called "The State That I'm In"". From "The State I Am In" by Belle and Sebastian
Blog for Amnesty - Protect the Human

