E102/Sad?

“I’m so happy that love has come around
I’m so happy about the girl I’ve found
I feel like someone’s favourite meal
No sweetner, No additives, the flavour is REAL!

(Go back), I can’t go back
(Go forward) I must go forward
(Go back) I cant go back to living like I did before

(Then repeat this lots of times until the record finishes)”

From the “E102/Sad? EP” by BMX Bandits

p1180012

I have no idea how many gigs my wife and I must have been to see in the 16 years since we first started going out.  It only took us 17 days to get along to our first gig of 2009. 

We often wonder what the demographic of the crowd will be given the relatively broad range of bands we manage to catch.  We also have this picture burned on our retinas of a couple of “oldies” dancing badly and looking out of place at some indie gig we went to in the early 1990s and we swore we’d never turn into them…oh, to see ourselves as others may do now might be a worrying thing…

Last night we went to The ABC in Glasgow to see The Shoeshine Records Showcase.  We got tickets from a couple we have just met recently through church and whom I hope we get to know a whole lot better in the years ahead.  Whilst I always hate folks who chat incessantly through bands, I apologise for being that, disrespectful, person during the first band’s set.  I guess I was just keen to chat and get to know our hosts.  Sorry Boa Morte… 

Next on were the indie cult genius that is the BMX Bandits.  Showmanship, singalong tunes and general feelgood factor in equal measure made them a pleasure to see.  One of the people we’d all probably most like to have a cup of tea with, Norman Blake of the, ever wonderful, Teenage Fanclub was the next act on the bill.  Norman was accompanied by Euros Childs (previously of Gorky’s Zykotic Mynci) and the two proceeded with a set of songs they’d penned together and some cover versions by the likes The Stories.  Whilst they ended with the amusing “Do, do, do, do, do, do, do ,do, do, do, do, do the Cave Dance”, most of us would have loved at least one old TFC classic.  Mind you, we did get a wee preview of one of the tracks from the forthcoming Fanclub album.

Last on were The Attic Lights who threw shapes like rock stars and provided more good time sounds.  All in all, a really enjoyable gig and almost like that pleasant feeling of being at a festival and sticking your head in various music tents just to see what’s going on.  The added advantage was not having to navigate our way through a sea of spaced out neds who have exposed themselves to too much Tennents, substances and sunshine.  Also no dodgy festival portaloos to contend with.  

After the gig we went to one of our friends’ favourite haunts for coffees, hot chocolates and snacks.  It provided a great atmosphere to just chat and get to know one another as couples.  During the evening we were receiving entertaining texts from some of our closest friends who had offered to let our daughter have a sleep over at theirs (this is the first time she has done this properly).  All went good on that front and it was such a treat to have a date night with good music and company.

Whilst I may reminisce about some of the good old gigs and times we had, I must move forward and I’m still so happy to be doing it all with the same girl I found all those years ago.  Sweet.

9 Responses to “E102/Sad?”


  1. 1 scottgladstone January 19, 2009 at 2:08 pm

    Regarding being the oldies dancing.

    I think every generation talks although they are the first generation to think a certain thing.

    We won’t be the oldies dancing at indie gigs
    We will won’t do the same things our parents did raising us
    We won’t listen to radio 4
    And so on.

  2. 2 lynn January 19, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    Ooooh I was so tempted to be one of the oldies dancing, my foot was certainly tapping and I was singing my heart out to “I wanna fall in love” – one of my most favourite songs EVER!!

    Lovely to spend an evening with you. I think it was OK to chat at the very back of the venue during the first act. Would have felt a bit weird to go “hi!” not really having met properly before, with the gig starting so promptly and all.

    We certainly look forward to enjoying your company again.

  3. 3 thestatethatiamin January 19, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    Thanks Guys…At Scott, yup, I’m listening to Radio 4 increasingly. I once read a book by Mark Radcliffe where he said he knew he was getting old when pullovers in Marks and Spencer began to look appealing….done that now too…oh, dear.

  4. 4 brunettekoala January 20, 2009 at 12:36 am

    Ok, you guys better do the ‘Bean bag’ test…

    I’ve recently noticed I make groaning noise when I stand up after sitting on the floor. Like when did that start happening?

    I WANT to be one of those embarrassing ‘oldies’ dancing at Indie gigs when I’m in my 60s.

    Oh yes. And I shall wear purple too.

  5. 5 lynn January 21, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    I bought purple trainers in Fat Face sale.

    Wondering if I am too old for them…….

    Shall I just call them “lesuire shoes?”

  6. 6 lynn January 21, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    maybe when I am even older I will be able to spell….

    – leisure shoes!

  7. 7 bringonthejoy January 21, 2009 at 5:13 pm

    I am currently pretty much dressed by Fat Face (they have a good sale too, hope they’re not one of those businesses struggling to keep their heads above water). So I’ll be gutted if we’re in the ‘too old for Fat Face’ category. NEVER call your shoes leisure shoes, though!

  8. 8 thestatethatiamin January 21, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    John Peel was never to old to dig good music and gigs. Johnny Cash is who I aspire to be like in old age…

  9. 9 brunettekoala January 21, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    I wanna see the purple trainers!!!

    I LOVE purple.

    I finally spotted a pair of comfy looking boots in fat face (I couldn’t find any shoes at all during the sale time) but I went in to see if I could spot some purpleness, and there were boots. If I have time I will go back to try them on tomorrow. My current boots (which served me through 2 Aberdeen winters, 2 rubbish Edinburgh summers) started leaking this winter…so fingers crossed they fit.

    On Sunday you’ll either see a happy BK with new boots, or a sad BK with cold feet.


Leave a Reply

RSS What I’m Listening To

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
"The priest in the booth had a photographic memory for all he had heard. He took all of my sins and he wrote a pocket novel called "The State That I'm In"". From "The State I Am In" by Belle and Sebastian
Blog for Amnesty - Protect the Human

