Fitter, Happier

“Fitter, happier, more productive,
comfortable,
not drinking too much,
regular exercise at the gym
(3 days a week),
getting on better with your associate employee contemporaries ,
at ease,
eating well
(no more microwave dinners and saturated fats)”
From “Fitter, Happier” by Radiohead.

p4220061

In a podcast I listened to recently Rob Bell said he had vowed to ask himself about every journey he was making – could he walk it and, if not, could he cycle it?  He said it has transformed his life.  He saw parts of his city that he’d never noticed before, he found time to contemplate things.  He suggested such an approach would save time that many of us make driving to the gym, being there and driving back and reclaim some of our evenings.  He said “It’s hard to consider the lilies at 70 miles per hour”.  It makes a lot of sense to me.

I’m not there yet, but I find myself increasingly considering whether a drive constitutes a non-essential car journey and can be replaced with a walk or ride.  Cycling to work has left me feeling fitter, more focussed and happier and has simply involved better utilising time I would ordinarily have been sat behind my steering wheel.  Twice this week I’ve caught up with a friend on their cycle into work and we’ve had the chance to have a really good chat whilst riding to work. 

I can enjoy life in the slow lane or I can go like stink with the wind in my hair and a smile on my face. Tonight, for the first time, I rode part of the way home with my four year old.  It was one of those snapshot moments streamed full of sunshine and happiness.

It’s true you see the world differently from a saddle.  If you’ve not seen the clip below, then I trust you’ll enjoy Edinburgh from a different perspective.

3 Responses to “Fitter, Happier”


  1. 1 damascusmoments April 23, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    Loving the clip!
    Scary, scary biscuits as he was coming off the top off MacDonald Cycles!

  2. 2 thestatethatiamin April 23, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    It’s great! It’s all the better for having a frame of reference around Edinburgh – places you can visualise. My wife banned me from getting a child seat attached to my bike when our daughter arrived for fear I’d forget she was attached and try inadvertantly bunnyhopping off something…

  3. 3 thestatethatiamin April 23, 2009 at 8:28 pm

    Even the trip to Sainsbury’s tonight was a blast. Flying on the bike, Weezer at 100 decibles on the iPod, a grin as wide as the Atlantic on my face. Groceries in the pannier for the ride home. Life is sweet.


Leave a Reply

RSS What I’m Listening To

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
"The priest in the booth had a photographic memory for all he had heard. He took all of my sins and he wrote a pocket novel called "The State That I'm In"". From "The State I Am In" by Belle and Sebastian
Blog for Amnesty - Protect the Human

