North Sea Bubble.

“We’re living in a North Sea bubble.
We’re trying to spend our way out of trouble.
You keep buying these things, but you don’t need them.
But as long as you’re comfortable – it feels like freedom”.

From “North Sea Bubble” by Billy Bragg.

3422554_f9c8b10398_m

All of us are fed up of being bombarded about news articles of the credit crunch, the global economy and recession.  The reality has long been felt by most of us.  We all know people who have lost their jobs and we’ve all had to adjust our lifestyles.  Some of this has been a helpful reality check and maybe things will never be the same again.  Maybe that is not all bad. 

I think, however, that there is a longing within all of us to get through to the other part of this cycle…the part where we can see the green shoots of recovery actually grow into something new and lush.  There seems to be an inherent belief that getting back to recovery is where we need to be.  Maybe it’s actually more constructive to use this period to ask some bigger questions, even if those aren’t necessarily easy ones.  Maybe now really is time to take stock.

I love and fear the writing of Naomi Klein in equal measure.  She talks a lot of sense and makes me have to take a long hard look at myself – how I make my decisions and how those are enacted in my life and the lives of others.  Here’s a little piece I read in the paper yesterday…food for thought…

0 Responses to “North Sea Bubble.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

RSS What I’m Listening To

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
"The priest in the booth had a photographic memory for all he had heard. He took all of my sins and he wrote a pocket novel called "The State That I'm In"". From "The State I Am In" by Belle and Sebastian
Blog for Amnesty - Protect the Human

