The Bells

“Dad, I broke my promise to you,
if you’re wondering where I’ve been.
I thought I knew what I was doing,
But I was wrong again.
I understand, Son.
I understand, Son.
I understand”.

From “The Bells” by Pedro The Lion.

P2100020

My good friend, Andrew, from calamateur tweeted about this refreshingly insightful and honest interview with the wonderful David Bazan that appeared recently in Paste magazine. 

It’s rare for an artist to wrestle so publicly with his inconsistencies, doubts and hopes.  It’s rarer still for a journalist to keep pressing the nub of an issue which has inspired their art when the issue at heart is so personal and not one that shifts magazine sales by and large…go read this link.

2 Responses to “The Bells”


  1. 1 Scott August 26, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    Hey.

    I really enjoyed the article. I got it via twitter.

    In general I dislike Worship music. That is more to do with my frame of mind than its actual content though I do have some concerns about corporate worship. Stuff like Pedro the Lion, Jesus Is For Losers and Gena Rowlands Band I appreciate more. The stuff about being a person who believes in God and has questions interests me more.
    Maybe this is a bad thing.

  2. 2 thestatethatiamin August 27, 2009 at 11:40 am

    Hey S, good to hear from you and hope things are working out post-Uni.

    Pedro The Lion, Calamateur, Gena Rowlands Band, Sufjan Stevens, etc all get me thinking because they make great music, write intelligent lyrics and address the big questions of life, faith and doubt. But so do countless other great artists who may not share anything close to my own views.

    There are a whole bunch of beliefs that I have re-visited in the past 10 years or so. It has led me to re-evaluate what I actually DO believe rather than something which was a hand-me-down belief system. I have questioned and reasoned and sought to back up my thought process to arrive at my opinions and these continue to evolve.

    I have found that hugely helpful and I have more conviction about certain things now rather than some dumbed down sense of liberalism.

    Whilst I may not share some of David Bazan’s views, I love his music and can see someone genuinely wrestling with questions that many of us gloss over. He wants truth and I was struck by how vulnerable and honest he was in that interview – how he almost hoped that he would rediscover a faith in the God of the bible. The book “Body Piercing Saved My Life” also features him heavily and gives an interesting insight into the expectations often placed on someone who expresses some form of alegance with Christianity – and the fall out from his honest expression lead to horrendous judgementalism from certain factions…

    There are so many aspects of the general public’s perception of “Christianity” that seem totally alien to me.

    I love Rob Bell’s phrase that “Christian is a far better adjective than it is a noun”.

    I like that a lot.

    B.


Leave a Reply

RSS What I’m Listening To

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
"The priest in the booth had a photographic memory for all he had heard. He took all of my sins and he wrote a pocket novel called "The State That I'm In"". From "The State I Am In" by Belle and Sebastian
Blog for Amnesty - Protect the Human

