Surf Wax America

“You take your car to work.  I’ll take my board.
And when your out of fuel, I’m still afloat”.

From “Surf Wax America” by Weezer.

I usually cycle to work.  The car normally only makes it in if it is needed for a particular appointment.  I do, however, love the days when the only reason it accompanies my journey to work is because my surfboard is strapped to the roof and I’m heading out into the sea at the end of the day.  That thought keeps me smiling all day long…

I was meant to be  heading up north for a weekend’s surfari with a group of folks, many of whom I don’t know, this weekend.  Sadly, I’ve been nursing fluid on my knee for the past 6 weeks and I’ve reluctantly accepted my friend Sam’s advice that 4 to 6 full-on surf sessions in BIG SWELL is only likely to set back my recovery…So, I’m back to the doctors to see if they can offer any more advice or physio and I’ve got myself booked on another trip in November. 

Sam’s lastest email read “You sound gutted, but don’t be – I’ll be on the November tour and it will be amazing!  I’ve booked you in”.  That made me smile.  Hopefully it will be amazing – amazing scenery, amazing fun, a sense of amazment at the vastness of the ocean and its refreshing and cleansing qualities, amazing laughs over food and drinks and maybe just some little significant words in season that nudge us all a little closer to amazing grace…

I’ve been in training for this trip -trying to cycle lots, do some weights, read surf books and watch surf movies to get me into the right headspace.  I watched this short clip and it scared the living daylights out of me.  This is for real.  Whilst I’m hoping we score decent swell and an offshore wind in November and when we’re in Cornwall next month, I never want to see anything like this unless it’s on a DVD!

2 Responses to “Surf Wax America”


  1. 2 brunettekoala September 25, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    awww so hope your knee gets better, sucks that you miss surf weekend


Leave a Reply

RSS What I’m Listening To

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
"The priest in the booth had a photographic memory for all he had heard. He took all of my sins and he wrote a pocket novel called "The State That I'm In"". From "The State I Am In" by Belle and Sebastian
Blog for Amnesty - Protect the Human

