Perfect Day.

“It’s such a perfect day.

I’m glad I spent it with you.

Oh, such a perfect day.

You just keep me hanging on”.

From “Perfect Day” by Lou Reed.

PA220072

I spent a couple of hours on the bean bags and graffitied old choir seats in my favourite cafe the other week.  We made ourselves at home and enjoyed the crepes and coffees of the Tubestation whilst watching surf videos on the big screen, listening to some mellow sounds and perusing the leaflets and literature lying around.

I had a really encouraging and affirming chat with Henry and Kris who run the place.  Whilst in many ways, I barely know them I feel very connected with them and on the same wavelength.  I will, therefore, always be part of the cheer-section for what God is doing there.

Refreshed and re-energised I clambered into my wetsuit for the first time since June.  I’ve been nursing a knee injury for some time now, but the physiotherapist has given me permission to get back on my surfboard for no more than 30 minutes at a time.

So, after proper stretching and warming up on Polzeath beach, I walked into the sea audibly singing my praise.  Pushing my board against the whitewater and feeling my feet take on the firm sandbar, it wasn’t long till I was paddling out and trying gingerly to catch a few dumpy waves, unsure of how my knee would hold up.

It may not have been the least sketchy or most well styled surf session, but it felt great to be immersed afresh.  As I peeled my way out of a cold, clingy, wet suit in the car park, the backdrop was a perfectly arched rainbow.

PA220053

Praise be!

1 Response to “Perfect Day.”


  1. 1 lynn November 4, 2009 at 10:54 pm

    Hey there

    I loved reading this post – it is so *you*.

    Chilling with friends, being in good relationships
    Enjoying the beauty of this wonderful world given to us
    Noticing the marks of God around you!

    We’re so glad to have got to know you!


Leave a Reply

RSS What I’m Listening To

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
"The priest in the booth had a photographic memory for all he had heard. He took all of my sins and he wrote a pocket novel called "The State That I'm In"". From "The State I Am In" by Belle and Sebastian
Blog for Amnesty - Protect the Human

