Where’s Your Head At?

“Where’s your head at?
(Where your head at? Where your head at? at? at? at? at? at? at?)
Where’s your head at?
(Where your head at? Where your head at? at? at? at?)”

From “Where’s Your Head At?” by Basement Jaxx.

Sometimes my head just feels full.  My mind feels like it’s working overtime – trying to prioritise my to-do list at work, trying to figure out how to resource that and deliver timeously, trying to suss out how to juggle the demands of work and family life, day-dreaming of how life will look next May when our second child arrives, trying to keep patient when things aren’t going as I plan, longing for a little oasis in the day or an alcove I can retreat into, wondering how life really is with some of my close friends behind the smiles and the surface conversation, trying to discern whether half the ideas in my head are all of my own creating or whether they are inspired by something altogether bigger…

Sometimes I just need to stop. 

To download.

IMG00323

Then at other times I wonder if this process just makes space for me to come with a blank sheet.  Not to ask God to bless my plans, but to ask Him to reveal His.

IMG00324

But, if He knows every word before it is on my lips, does He also know the words I scribble down too?  Are the words some form of ghost writing?  Could they be Holy Ghost writing?

10 Responses to “Where’s Your Head At?”


  1. 1 calamateur November 13, 2009 at 9:36 am

    Second child?!?!?!

    WOW!!! Great news, congratulations to all of you.

  2. 2 brunettekoala November 13, 2009 at 10:42 am

    I love the way you surrepticiously drop that huge news into passing blogversation. Hee hee.

  3. 3 Craig November 13, 2009 at 11:23 am

    Hi Brain – Havn’t seen you guys for ages! Carol told me your news a few weeks ago after speaking to Vicky, congratulations, we’re both delighted for you guys. Maybe catch up on Sunday.

  4. 4 thestatethatiamin November 13, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    At Calamateur – yup,Andrew – remember those prayer point the four of shared earlier this year??? God is good and it’s weird to make that mental adjustment to going back to that period of exhaustion and an over consumption of coffee after all this time. Also when we met Paul Northup the other week he asked after you and knew the band moniker without prompting and commented on how much he loved the “Jesus Is For Losers” album.

    At BK – yeah, the blog is becoming more transparent…

    At Craig – it’s been far too long. Pray for you guys every night and would be good to catch up on Sunday. I’ll be locked in the drum box with David Crooks’ band. He’s trying to convince me to wear a gorilla suit and re-inact that Dairy Milk advert with the Phil Collins drum sequence…

    Peace be with you all.

    B.

  5. 5 brunettekoala November 13, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    @B – I’m with crooksy! That would be awesome. If you do it I will buy you a huge bar of Dairy Milk (fair trade of course)

  6. 6 thestatethatiamin November 13, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    I think it only comes Fair-Trade now – which is totally sweet!

    Alas, I think the monkey suit is at the drycleaners…

    B.

  7. 7 lynn November 13, 2009 at 10:38 pm

    My mind is just picturing that look

    (TSTIAI in a gorilla suit)

    (nah, not gettiing it!!)

  8. 8 theWeir November 17, 2009 at 11:13 am

    new baby? brilliant news. much grace on your heads as you all get ready.

    refreshed by the way you articulate your thoughts, Mr A. terrific.

  9. 9 thestatethatiamin November 17, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    @ theWeir. Thanks – I’ll drop you a line as we’re well over due a catch up and blether over lunch sometime soon.

    Peace be with you all.

    B.

  10. 10 brunettekoala November 17, 2009 at 11:50 pm

    And alas no giant bars of chocolate for TSTIAI…a gorrillasuit/phil collins reenactment fail.

    Disappointed.

    😦

    lol


Leave a Reply

RSS What I’m Listening To

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
"The priest in the booth had a photographic memory for all he had heard. He took all of my sins and he wrote a pocket novel called "The State That I'm In"". From "The State I Am In" by Belle and Sebastian
Blog for Amnesty - Protect the Human

